Home  / AH - Alan Hunter Archive

AH - Alan Hunter Archive

Reference code
Level of description
Alan Hunter Archive
Quantity & Format
65 boxes Mixed
Personal name
Hunter, Alan
Authors, English -- 20th century
Detective and mystery stories
Hunter, Alan
Administrative/Biographical history
Alan Hunter (1922-2005) was the author of 46 detective novels (published 1955-1999) as part of the Inspector George Gently crime series, set in East Anglia. During the war, Hunter served as an aircraft technician in the RAF and published a collection of poetry, 'The Norwich Poems' (1944). In 1946 he was appointed manager of the antiquarian books department of Charles Cubitt, booksellers, in Norwich, before setting up his own bookshop in the town's Maddermarket in 1950. AH submitted two scripts under pseudonyms: 'Millionaires are Murder' under the name of Sam Latterly, 1957 and 'Nothing Holy' under the name of James Herbert, 1969. Neither were published.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer
The Alan Hunter Archive was gifted to the University of East Anglia by the Hunter family and deposited in the Archives on 9 April 2015.
Scope and content
The collection contains MSS, TSS and proofs of short story writing, novels, plays and poems. Notebooks include early drafts, plans, plot outlines and character descriptions. They also include AH’s commentary on his writing process and progress. Includes novels, novellas and screenplays; correspondence, press cuttings and review writing.

The collection is one of many individual deposits forming part of the wider British Archive for Contemporary Writing, est. 2015. The Alan Hunter Archive is divided into 19 series, each containing multiple files and occasionally sub-files.
Powered by CollectionsIndex+ Collections Online